A Day at the Museum

natmuseum (1)

The Edinburgh Museum on Chambers Street was last graced with my presence way back in the early 20’s when I was down there employed by MI5 as a……well, I couldn’t possibly say. Oh wait – that’s a lie. I worked out the last time I visited was probably around 40 years ago while down visiting my paternal Grandma – safe to say a few years ago then and quite a bit has changed in the place since then. My lasting memory was a blue whale skeleton hanging from the roof in the impressive, even now 40 years on, main hall.  (Im informed by my Pa-in-Law that it was probably not the main hall……..hmmmm)  Evie loved it. A family day out – ok a family day out that had Dad and Grandpa routinely disappearing to take photos but a family day out nonetheless.  Loads of stuff to occupy the wee one on every floor too !!

The ACTUAL Dolly the Sheep.  I know eh !!  Very SciFi (ok fact really)
The ACTUAL Dolly the Sheep. I know eh !! Very SciFi (ok fact really)
see, something for everyone…..

Anyway – Its a great place to visit whatever your age or camera equipment and there’s still plenty of stuff hanging from the various roofs and walls that are all worth looking at. Incidentally I was armed with D200 and the new Sigma 17 – 35mm and 28 – 105mm. Both f2.8’s (if youre remotely interested)

I’m never going to get a job writing for Lonely Planet but then again I’m not going to apply when it comes up………enjoy the pics and you should really visit this gaff if you’re ever in Edinburgh.

ITS FREE !! (the magic words in our house)

natmuseum (2)

natmuseum (3)

natmuseum (4)

natmuseum (5)

natmuseum (6)

natmuseum (7)

natmuseum (8)

natmuseum (9)

natmuseum (10)

natmuseum (11)

natmuseum (12)

Leave a Reply

