Martha Reeves & the Vandellas | Inverness Ironworks

Now I’m not going to make any apologies here but there are a LOT of photos in this post.  More than I usually do but I don’t usually get to shoot legends.  Martha Reeves & the Vandellas are legendary and the woman herself was something special at the Ironworks.  All the hits were there, Jimmy Mack, Dancin, Heatwave etc etc and as my wife pointed out, these were not covers – this was the real deal !!  Superb.

Processed these, predominantly, in black and white as I liked the feel it gave the shots but there are a couple of colours in there for good measure.  Also the first outing with the 24 – 70, a 50th birthday treat from me and Mrs D to me.  I made a point of taking only one lens to the gig so that I didn’t have a choice.  The strangest lens I’ve ever owned.  I wont bore you with nerdy details but it’ll take a bit of getting used to.  So far so good tho.

Martha was more than ably supported on the night by Scooty & The Skyhooks, local soulsters which also happen to feature my ‘sistah from another mistah‘, Ali Wilson.  🙂

Nikon D7100 | Sigma 24 – 70 f2.8

Martha Reeves & the Vandellas

Scooty & the Skyhooks

Leave a Reply

